Skip to content

And piles to read..

January 3, 2010

One of my resolutions in this new year is to read as much as possible. What better way to enforce this than to take up a challenge, one that would force me to publicly admit to all of the 2 or 3 readers that I hope to have towards the end of 2010 if I haven’t read even a few of the books from my list of “must-read in 2010” list. The premise of the challenge is simple – all those who take it up must read all the twelve books they have listed, to finish the challenge. And that one can’t change one’s list of books once the new year begins.

That’s it.

One IS allowed a small leeway though. All those who take up the TBR challenge can also keep a list of 12 reserves, which they can use to substitute a book on the list if they really can’t get around to reading one of those original books.

Here is my list of books To Be Read in 2010:

1. Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance – Robert M. Pirsig: Have regrettably read only a portion of this one, and it’s still one of my favourite books of all time. Have been dying to complete it, but dithering over “the perfect mood”, etc.

2. The Virtue of Selfishness – Ayn Rand: Rand has rightly been called the solace of the over-worked. Still, have been bowled over by the little that I have read of this slim volume.

3. The Fountainhead – Ayn Rand: The Fountainhead and Atlas Shrugged remain the big blots on my reading career, since everyone else seems to have read them. Shall finish Fountainhead and watch the movie in 2010. Atlas Shrugged shall be tackled in 2011!

4. Gods of War – Ashok K. Banker: Having bought an autographed copy of this new fantasy tome, I have decided to break a long running jinx by reading a book within a year of buying it!

5. The Iliad – Homer: Have bought myself a beautiful edition. Can’t leave it gathering dust for long. Plus it’s step one to reading Ulysses this year. I want to take it in the correct fashion – The Iliad, The Odyssey, and lastly, Ulysses.

6. The Odyssey – Homer: See point 5 above.

7. Ulysses – James Joyce: Need to see if what is repeatedly voted as the best novel of the 20th Century is worth the hype. Plus it seems just the kind of over-complicated, oh-so-literary stuff that I would like! Also see point 5 above.

8. Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoevsky: Absolutely loved the 100 odd pages I read sometime in 2008, before going into deep depression. It’s time I put the matter to rest.)

9. Rich Dad Poor DadRobert Kiyosaki and Sharon Lechter Part of my non-fiction quota. Hope to learn better money management from this one.

10. Getting Things Done – David Allen: Have been dying to complete this one and start implementing the magical GTD system, which I hope will miraculously improve my life.

11. I’m OK, You’re OK – Robert Harris: Supposed to be a classic on human relations and behaviour. Has been on the must-read list for long.

12. The Road Less Travelled – M. Scott Peck: Said to be a life altering experience. And God knows my life needs a lot of altering at present. Plus, have really liked the few pages that I have read so far!

That’s that then. The big twelve. Shall post the list of reserves soon. Some of the books are surprisingly well known and plebeian, but I strongly believe I can’t move to a higher level till I go through these “must-reads” first.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2010 1:20 am

    This is an awesome list. Good luck and I hope you blog about all the epiphanies you’re soon going to have. πŸ™‚

  2. B.W. permalink*
    February 4, 2010 1:13 pm

    Thanks, Neo. Shall definitely blog about the books, this is just the motivation I needed! πŸ˜€

    Btw, you are the first ever commentor on this blog. Thank you very much, you have pretty much made by day.

    Now that I know someone might actually read what I’m writing, shall update more frequently.

    Cheers,

    B.W.

Trackbacks

  1. Alegria « A Person from Porlock

Leave a Reply

