Skip to content

Reading Challenge: 2014

December 20, 2013

Hello, hello.. So I am back!

This is a one off post, will do my bit of apologising for the long absence and all that jazz when I do a proper blog post later on!

For now, down to brass tacks. Without much ado, here’s the list of books I will read in 2014:

1. Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoyevsky (Have read 1/4th of it 3-4 years back, and it is already one of my top 10 favourite books of all time. The rhythm and tempo of the book are beyond comparison.)

2. The Hobbit – JRR Tolkein (Can’t watch the movies till I read it, can I!)

3, 4, 5. The LOTR Trilogy – JRR Tolkein (Have watched the movies, but feel I missed a lot of the story because I haven’t read the books. Will read them and have another go at the movies..)

6, 7, 8.  Harry Potter & The Order of the Pheonix, Harry Potter & The Half Blood Prince, Harry Potter & The Deathly Hallows – JK Rowling (Somehow these are still pending. Can’t have so many 11 year olds being better read than me! 😛  Also I really love JKR’s writing.)

9. Don Quixote – Miguel de Cervantes (Just really really want to read this. It’s part of Prof. Manikutti’s course at IIM Ahmedabad, AND James Marsh’s course at Stanford. ‘Nuff said.)

10. Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen (Just to know what all the hoopla is about!)

11. Shantaram – Gregory Davies Roberts (Living in Bombay should be reason enough. Also that I can’t be in a position where everyone around me has read a certain book, and I haven’t. That’s also why I read Chetan Bhagat. Sacchi.)

12. Lowland – Jhumpa Lahiri (Really like Calcutta, and Jhumpa writes well. Also bought it at a 50% discount from Flipkart and I’d promised myself to read it ASAP.)

13. Inferno – Dante (Can’t really read Dan Brown’s Inferno without reading this one, can I?)

14. Hamlet – William Shakespeare (Own a pretty copy. Also feel the need to know Shakespeare beyond Merchant of Venice, which ICSE pushed down my throat. Maybe I will read a play a year. Let’s see.)

15. 1984 – George Orwell (Have the highest respect for Orwell. Have been wanting to read this one for the longest time.)

16. Birdsong – Sebastian Faulks (Own a copy. Heard loads of good things about it.)

17. The Count of Monte Christo – Alexandre Dumas (Because one must read at least one 700 pager in a year! :D)

18. The Honorable Schoolboy – John Le Carre (Has been a while since Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy. And this is as classic as spy-fi gets!)

19. The Songs of Distant Earth – Arthur C. Clarke (The sci-fi rep in this list. Also own a copy.)

20. The Turn of the Screw and Other Short Fiction – Henry James (Another book that’s been on my to-read list for much too long!)

Moving on to non-fiction now:

21. The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People – Stephen Covey (Can’t believe I still haven’t finished reading this potentially life altering book. This year I will.)

22. Getting Things Done – David Allen (Same as above. Shit. No wonder my life is such a mess.)

23. The Power of Habit – Charles Duhigg (Because I am a sucker for pop-psychology. Much more of that to come.)

24. I am OK, You are OK – Thomas Harris (Didn’t I tell you?)

26. Thinking, Fast and Slow – Daniel Kahneman (More pop-psy!)

25. Emotional Intelligence – Daniel Goleman (More of the same. Also this is one of those books that is going to form the foundation of the way we live in the future. In fact, all the non-fiction books so far listed are going to do that.)

26. The Goal – Eliyahu M. Goldratt (I have this ongoing itch for continuous improvement, TQM, TPM, and all that jazz. Also have the highest possible respect for Goldratt as a thinker.)

27. Rich Dad Poor Dad – Robert Kiyosaki (Because I need to start thinking about my money better. Currently I use it the same way I used to use pocket money in school and college.)

28. First, Break All the Rules – Marcus Buckingham (Supposed to be a must-read for us corporate slaves!)

29. What Got You Here Won’t Get You There – Marshall Goldsmith (Same as above. Plus I own a copy.)

30. Bird by Bird – Anne Lamott (Because I love books about writing and the discipline of it.)

31. Your Brain at Work – David Rock (Because the hardware is as important as the software!)

32. How to Solve it – George Pólya (Because in the heart of hearts, I am just a puzzle nut!)

33. An Inquiry into the Nature and Causes of the Wealth of Nations – Adam Smith (Because economics interests me, and this is one is a bible of the subject.)

34. A Bank for the Buck – Tamal Bandopadhyaya (It’s the story of how HDFC Bank came about. Should be interesting!)

35. The Simplicity Survival Handbook – Bill Jensen (Another back to the basics book!)

36. Big Data – Viktor Mayer-Schonberger (Because can one NOT know all there is to know about this!)

37. Man’s Search for Meaning – Viktor Frankl (Been on the to-read list forever)

38. Meditations – Marcus Aurelius (Because Stoic philosophy seems to be the only way out for me!)

39. Bhagavad Gita As It Is – Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada (This man’s search for meaning! Next year I read the Bible.)

40. Winning! – Jack Welch (One of those business books that everybody reads. I shall do it too.)

There. That’s the list. I hope to read all of these and a few more easy reads (Wodehouse, Hiaasen, McCall Smith, Grisham) along the way, and bring the total to 52. I know. That’s a very tough target of a book a week. Let’s see how it goes. Wish me luck.

Till next time.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

